Virtual Akron


Stan Hywet Hall was built between 1912 and 1915 as a home for the Seiberling family. F. A. Seiberling, co-founder of both Goodyear Tire & Rubber Campany and the Seiberling Rubber Company, along with his wife and six children, lived here for forty years.

Stan Hywet, meaning "stone quarry" in Old English, was named for the nearby sandstone quarry. The majestic 65-room home is designed in the Tudor Revival style and is now listed as a National Historic Landmark. The manor house is currently surrounded by more than 70 acres of gardens and grounds that, even today, are tended to the high standards that the Seiberlings would have expected.

Visitors to Stan Hywet are treated to a wonderful experience most any time of the years. The gardens are full of beautiful flowers during the warm months and a stroll around the grounds provides an array a fanciful sights and sounds. During the winter the manor is decorated for the holidays in the original styles of the early 1900s. Several special events are held throughout the year, from arts festivals to day camps for kids.

LINKS:

Official Website: www.stanhywet.org


 

©1999-2002 . All rights reserved. Email for use restrictions and permission. Website design by COGNEATO